Compiling a Flex project from the command-line

I can’t seem to get a Flex ‘project’ to compile all-together from the command-line. I have some ActionScript classes in sub-folders, as well as some mxml components in sub-folders, and the main mxml application in the root folder. I’m using the basic: “mxmlc main.mxml” command, but it tells me that it does not know what my custom ActionScript classes are or where to find them. In other words, I think that they have not been “compiled”. I had this working for an earlier custom Actionscript class, but I can’t remember what I did!

Solution:

Flex’s “mxmlc” compiler automatically searches sub-folders within your root package directory for source files, you don’t need to specify them on the command line. The reason mxmlc was complaining that it “did not know what my custom ActionScript classes were” was because I forgot to import my custom event file in the class I used it in!

Leave a Reply

